Reviews - Black Swan Hotel

Cheap and very cheerful - Rating 4/5

Very good for the price. Basic and "cosy"but very clean and everything you need for a short stay. We were on the top floor so no noise from the pub clientele at all. Would recommend - so long as you are able to climb stairs. Will definitely pay a return visit next year.

Reviewer:Jeanette H | Mon 1st Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Two night stay - Rating 4/5

Stayed at The Black Swan for two nights during the Food Festival,no complaints whatsoever,staff and locals very friendly,room good value for the price,will definitely book here again when visiting Kelso.

Reviewer:Richard A | Wed 12th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Great family room in centre of town- Rating 4/5

Large room2 singles and a double and great price Tea and coffee facilities extra milk etc provided. Very clean and plenty towels. Right in the centre of town . Good pub downstairs. No noise upstairs.Negative side no food available and advisable to book anywhere before visiting town

Reviewer:Carol B | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


stayed on route - Rating 5/5

hi my wife and i stayed here for our wedding anniversary enroute to bulgaria it was nice to stay here as broke the journy time in half thanks for the nice relaxing stay

Reviewer:david w | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Staying in Kelso- Rating 4/5

Very happy with room and friendly staff. Liked the town and the friendly people. Would stay again. It was a stop over on a long journey from Brora to Hull but it recharges our batteries and energy and was enjoying to walk round the town. Would stay again.

Reviewer:William H | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Great central location - Rating 5/5

As Americans, this was our first pub accommodations and we really enjoyed it! The room was a wee bit tights but the bath was spacious and very comfortable—and there were plenty of restaurants not two minutes away. Parking also was not a problem.

Reviewer:FRED POWELL I | Tue 31st Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Kelso visit - Rating 4/5

The Black Swan provided very comfortable rooms for our stay and a warm welcome from Gary! Civic week celebrations meant more street noise than normal, but Gary made sure the noise stopped by 11.30pm. Breakfast was very good, only thing our room needed was a mirror near the electric socket on the dresser! Had to dry my hairon a "hope that looks ok basis"! Big thank you to Gary, he made all the differennce to our stay.

Reviewer:Fiona M | Thu 19th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Staying for work - Rating 5/5

Clean, tidy and quiet room, even in tbe centre of kelso. Good location and close to ameniities

Reviewer:Jacqueline M | Sat 7th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Great value, friendly staff and clean.

Reviewer:Robert A | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Black swan Kelso- Rating 5/5

What a great find lovely clean room and comfy beds atFantastic rates,would definitely recommend this hotel.Not so pretty on the outside but great on inside đź‘Ť

Reviewer:Lorna H | Mon 2nd Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Black Swan - recommendation- Rating 5/5

We were well chuffed with the room, my daughter thought it was massive.We have a very warm welcome and was treated with respect and felt very valued.

Reviewer:Tracey W | Mon 25th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Good hĂ´tel, noisy morning. - Rating 4/5

Good hotel, enough for one night. Noisy in the morning in the absence of double glazing and paved street traffic.

Reviewer:Jeremy L | Tue 12th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Cheap and cheerful- Rating 4/5

For price we paid it was great. We had everything we needed and room clean. Didnt hear any noise from bar but did from road . It wouldn't stop us staying there again.

Reviewer:Marion C | Wed 6th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Stopover in Kelso - Rating 4/5

Friendly and welcoming staff, room was clean and comfortable, only criticism, couldn't find a hairdryer.

Reviewer:Sue K | Tue 5th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

lovely room, much bigger than expected, comfortable, and very friendly staff. Would stay again!

Reviewer:rachel r | Tue 22nd May 2018 | 5 months ago


Great Value - Rating 5/5

Second time we have stayed here. Its clean, great value with friendly staff. Have paid twice as much for similar standard accomodation in Kelso. For a golf weekend its exactly what you need.

Reviewer:MARK D | Sun 20th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Perfect - Rating 4/5

Clean room with all you need, great view, awesome food. Price is OK, breakfast too.

Reviewer:Maite H | Mon 30th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Good value - Rating 4/5

Simple straightforward pub, clean, comfortable quiet room, everything worked, good pint, good value.

Reviewer:Stephen C | Fri 27th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Position “A” - Rating 4/5

No nonesense clean accommodation, nice decor. Friendly staff. Located right in the centre of Kelso, on the Main Street.Private entrance, hospitality tray. Park at front door or large free car park just opposite. We’d stay again certainlyDown sides arn’t show stoppers - traditional sash windows and cobbled streets makes rooms on the front less quiet than some. En suite was minimal

Reviewer:Tim R | Sun 22nd Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Short trip to Kelso - Rating 5/5

This was a really excellent experience. I would certainly stay again and recommend the hotel to others.

Reviewer:PATRICK B | Fri 23rd Mar 2018 | 7 months ago


Excellent value for accommodation in Kelso - Rating 4/5

The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean. It’s in a great location and is good value for money. The Greggs directly opposite sells decent coffee and breakfast. There were toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. The separate entrance means you don’t need to go through the pub. The landlord was really helpful and welcoming and I would defy a better grade hotel to be any cleaner than this. An excellent choice if you want basic clean accommodation right in the centre of Kelso. (The Cobbles restaurant opposite was very good for an evening meal)

Reviewer:Gillian R | Fri 23rd Feb 2018 | 8 months ago


Kelso with the dog. - Rating 4/5

Booked this room knowing dogs were welcome.Room was clean and tidy, beds were comfy and the shower was decent.Dog was most welcome and all the staff were very friendly.Great value and couldn't have asked for more. Will be back.

Reviewer:Stuart R | Tue 19th Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


comfortable, clean and cosy. - Rating 4/5

Had a lovely stay, exactly what we were looking for. Room was clean and comfortable. Good bathing facilities, appreciated the tea & coffee! Good to have a private entrance & staff very friendly.

Reviewer:julia t | Fri 1st Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


Just perfect - Rating 5/5

Lovely comfy bed, en suite with tea and coffee and a tv. Clean and fresh.

Reviewer:Judith T | Fri 17th Nov 2017 | 12 months ago


Just perfect - Rating 5/5

Lovely comfy bed, en suite with tea and coffee and a tv. Clean and fresh.

Reviewer:Judith T | Fri 17th Nov 2017 | 12 months ago


Black Swan Hotel. - Rating 5/5

First class service,staff were very friendly,rooms were spotlessly clean,and the breakfast was very good.Many Thanks.

Reviewer:Guthrie S | Mon 30th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

6 of us stayed here for a short midweek stay. Lovely spacious rooms and very clean, staff can’t do enough for you. Great pub too the Black Swan, locals very friendly & knowledgeable about the area. Great base to drive out to Jedburgh, Galashiels & Hawick Etc...lovely place.

Reviewer:Alan C | Fri 27th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Pleasant Stay - Rating 5/5

Secon time staying here, as found the room comfortable,warm and clean. The ony problem I came across this time was the main door closure not working and door slamming with guests leaving early and door slamming.Staff were very friendly and helpful. Being disabled, was helped out to my car with luggage when leaving.Will book again for May

Reviewer:Joe D | Wed 18th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely spot - Rating 5/5

Great location on the square at Kelso. Nice and clean and friendly. bed s very comfy, slept well. Would do it all again!Chris R

Reviewer:Chris R | Mon 16th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Black Swan Kelso - Rating 5/5

Very clean and tidy & staff more than helpful. Excellent value for money breakfast the morning after. Would definitely stay here again next time I'm in the area.

Reviewer:Shaun C | Sun 15th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Mr Taylor- Rating 4/5

Spot on good value for money cheers

Reviewer:Roger T | Thu 12th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


European Tour Q school - Rating 5/5

Great service at a great rate.Very caring, making sure everything was ok so that we could perform playing golf.I'll definitely go back!

Reviewer:Robin P | Sat 16th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Kelso ToB Cycling - Rating 5/5

Two couples booked 2 rooms last minute for cycling event in Kelso. What an absolute bargain at ÂŁ45 per room. Rooms way exceeded our expectations,clean, nicely decorated, spacious and very comfortable beds. Also had great view of the town square where event was happening. We arrived a couple of hours before check-in and although rooms weren't ready we were able to leave luggage and store bikes. Really nice staff. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Reviewer:Gillian A | Tue 5th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Racedemon19 - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stop in. Front view so I could see my vehicle parked in car park across the road - car park free of charge. Friendly helpful staff. Will stop again when in Kelso.

Reviewer:Sharon N | Sun 3rd Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Black swan - Rating 5/5

Very good price , spotless clean rooms , good prices at the bar , friendly staff . What more can I say . Would stop again & recommend to all my work mates and friends

Reviewer:michael b | Mon 28th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


a useful place to stay - Rating 5/5

Clean and tidy room with all the usual facilities, worked out well for me and excellent value

Reviewer:anthony a | Sun 13th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


holiday break - Rating 4/5

Nice clean room but no wardrobe.Could have better lighting otherwise very happy with accommodation.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian T | Sat 5th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Golf break - Rating 4/5

Stayed one night. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Room was clean and well presented, bed was extremely comfortable.Towel laid out on bed were the whitest fluffier u have came across.I would venture to say this was great value for money.My only gripe would have been the shower as the shower was beyond its best. It still worked and did all we required off it.

Reviewer:Brian J | Fri 4th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Great place to stay and dog friendly too. - Rating 4/5

Comfortable clean and tidy room. No breakfast but thats fine you have teamaking facilities and there are plenty of eateries closeby that's why the accommodation price is so cheap. Lovely cheerful bar with friendly staff and clientel. We travelled with our dog and he was looked after too.

Reviewer:Steven R | Tue 1st Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Great place to stay and dog friendly too. - Rating 4/5

Comfortable clean and tidy room. No breakfast but thats fine you have teamaking facilities and there are plenty of eateries closeby that's why the accommodation price is so cheap. Lovely cheerful bar with friendly staff and clientel. We travelled with our dog and he was looked after too.

Reviewer:Steven R | Tue 1st Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


very good- Rating 5/5

great stay thank you dont forget to book us in for next year

Reviewer:HEATHER F | Sun 30th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Le meilleur hĂ´tel de notre roadtrip (8 hĂ´tels au total) ! - Rating 5/5

L'emplacement de l'hôtel est en plein "centre-ville"de ce village. Vous avez la vue sur la grande rue et la place avec l'hôtel de ville. C'est un village charmant, à taille humaine, avec des boutiques souvenirs et des restaurants qui changent des grandes villes. Ici, on est immergé dans la vie quotidienne de l’écosse. Allez jeter un œil à l'église et aux ruines d el'abbaye de Kelso, magnifique ! Le point info touristique est à faire aussi. D'ailleurs nous avons découvert que Kelso était jumelée avec une ville proche de chez nous en France !La chambre est très spacieuse que ce soit pour la chambre en elle-même ou la salle de bain (douche, baignoire, WC). Bien équipée :2 serviettes par personne (une grande, une petite), tout le nécessaire d'hygiène (gobelets, savons main, poubelle, tapis de bain, gel douche et shampoing). On apprécie particulièrement le coin petit-déjeuner dans la chambre, en face des fenêtres composé d'une bouilloire, de tasses, café soluble, sucre en poudre, lait, thé, petits gâteaux. Un réveil aussi. Il n'a pas fait trop chaud malgré la chaleur extérieure (15 jours en écosse, deux averses de 30 minutes et majoritairement 25°). Une belle décoration aussi qui nous met à l'aise (moquette au sol, gris-bleu)Les services :un côté bar, un côté restaurant avec billard. Une décoration atypique et assez drôle. Une serveuse super sympathique (la première écossaise à qui on a parlé et qui a donné le ton de ce séjour) ! Notre premier gin écossais. Bref que du bonheur !Très calme, avec une entrée privée pour l'hôtel et des places de parking gratuite juste en face.

Reviewer:Jean-Marc N | Sun 30th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Black Swan at Kelso- Rating 4/5

Was quite good for the ÂŁ45 paid. Handy for town and parking

Reviewer:Duncan C | Fri 30th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


My stay on the 10th June- Rating 5/5

Excellent friendly staff and a very clean room good value for money .

Reviewer:Mr. GlennPrice| Mon 12th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


One night stay- Rating 4/5

Thank you for a lovely stay. The room was really comfortable

Reviewer:Susan G | Wed 7th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


lovely stay - Rating 4/5

stayed here while visiting relatives friendly welcome by garry the manger room was lovely decor n bedding fresh breakfast was a treat and the bar was very friendly reasonable prices so well done garry n wendy enjoyed our stay will be back .

Reviewer:mary g | Mon 5th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay. - Rating 4/5

Nice room overlooking the square in Kelso. Two single beds, plenty of towels. Shower room small but adequate. Very reasonable room rate without breakfast as I left very early.

Reviewer:Mr. David P | Thu 11th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Great hospitality - Rating 5/5

Good size room and cleanliness was excellent, staff were very cheerful and friendly. Even though it was in centre of town we found it peaceful and quiet. Definitely good value for money

Reviewer:Kevin H | Fri 7th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Recent stay at Black Swan - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely stay at the Black Swan.The room was perfect for our needs.The staff were very friendly & helped us with places to eat & directions to nearby attractions.

Reviewer:Sharon H | Wed 5th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Fabulous Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed here on 29th December 2016, after attending Kelso races. We stayed with our 2 golden retreivers in room 1 which was spacious and very clean. We were given a warm welcome and had an extremely good nights sleep. The shower was excellent, nice and powerful which is exactly what we like. Although the hotel doesn't do breakfasts there is a Greggs directly across the road so we went and got lovely takeaway coffee from there and when we left went onto a lovely garden centre minutes away for breakfast. There is a park just minutes away from the hotel so this was just perfect to give the boys a run last thing at night and first thing in the morning. We highly recommend a stay here and we will most certainly be returning next time we're in Kelso. Thanks from Helen, Mike, Fraoch & Brogan

Reviewer:Mrs. HELEN C | Fri 6th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Great place to stay good location friendly staff.. - Rating 4/5

Great place to stay good location friendly staff.

Reviewer:Eileen L | Tue 29th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Not just a good nights sleep an excellent one!! - Rating 5/5

Room very clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. Bathroom clean and what you would expect. Fluffy perfect size towels too!!.Bedside clock provided too which you don't see very often, very thoughtful.Staff very friendly, very welcoming and hospitable, a great bar too.Cheap and cheerful stay, excellent location. All we needed for the night’s stay and we would return without hesitation.We have paid more for other locations that were not as nice as this. It’s a lovely old hotel and full of character. I would recommend anyone to stay here.We stay in Kelso at least once a year and as long as this hotel is available we will be booking it again.There is a saying "what you see is what you get"and this is a no frills but very comfortable and clean hotel in a great location and I liked what I saw!!.The only minus points were we were not told how to get into the property once the bar had shut and our second key didn't seem to work in any of the outer doors. (Try to imagine Jack Sparrow trying to get out of Will Turners workshop in Pirates of the Carribean). Thankfully Gary was leaving as we were trying to get in.Water was constantly gurgling through the pipes during the night;not a huge problem, but a heads up would have been appreciated as it was a bit disconcerting at first.

Reviewer:PAT D | Sun 27th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Great Stay - Rating 4/5

Good size room & bathroom. It was great value for an overnight at the horse racing.We would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Janet E | Mon 7th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Location - Rating 5/5

Friendly and helpful staff lovely atmosphere rooms were spotless and quiet we had room 4 which is a family room.Large room plenty space for 4.Will be back again

Reviewer:Janice M | Sun 30th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Cosy Place - Rating 5/5

Came here just for a one night stay. Staff was super friendly and the room comfy and cosy. Very atmospheric little place right in the centre of Kelso, loved it!

Reviewer:Miss. Ilona K | Fri 28th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Our stay on Wednesday 5th October - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay at Black Swan Hotel. Very comfortable. Helpful staff. Central location, beside bus stop. Very good value for money.Thank you very much.

Reviewer:Morag D | Thu 13th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Very nice place to stay. - Rating 5/5

Received a warm welcome room was clean and comfortable bed. Everything you'd want in room kettle drinks (tea coffee)Best of all for me was that I could put my bicycle on landing over night for safe keeping. Thanks for a great stay.

Reviewer:David S | Wed 21st Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Black swan- Rating 4/5

Clean and tidy room staff really friendly and helpful

Reviewer:Mark E | Fri 16th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 4/5

The room was very clean, bed very comfortable, all the staff we met friendly and helpful, the breakfast was really good, and the bar we enjoyed too. Would come again x o up

Reviewer:Anne B | Sun 21st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Black Swan Kelso - Rating 5/5

We were at the Hotel 5 days. The Room was nice, Breakfast sensational, and parking available outsid the dood. Overall a good place to stay at a very reasonabe rateRecommended

Reviewer:John B | Wed 3rd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago